Quarter Wave Loudspeaker Enclosures

M

MALIK_BRODER

Enthusiast
Does anyone here have experience with Quarter Wave Loudspeaker Enclosures or can point me to suitable resources as how to build one?

Cheers

Malik

M

MJK

Audioholic Intern
I have been working on/with quarter-wave enclosures for over 25 years. You can find my take on the design of these types of speakers at www.quarter-wave.com and if you look at the gallery linked from the homepage there are many examples of speakers designed and built using my methods.

M

MALIK_BRODER

Enthusiast
Wow, the Martin King. Blushing right now. Thanks for an amazing site and so much passion for what we do. I have been trying to get my head around back loaded horns. Can you explain the underlying advantages and principles in layman terms? I imagine they "bundle" the rear radiating sound in a similar way as a front loaded horn does making them rather efficient? Wouldn't they emit all frequencies backward and out the horn compared to say a well stuffed quarter wave leading to cancellations and superpositions with the output from the front? Do they help with bass extension at all? If so, how? Also do you know of a good reasonably priced quarter wave that is commercially available?

M

MJK

Audioholic Intern
My latest thinking on back loaded horn design is contained in this article from 2012.

http://www.quarter-wave.com/Horns/BLH_Design_Article.pdf