Was looking for Bose Acoustimas 10, what now?

Acoustat

Acoustat

Full Audioholic
Hey guys
Newbie here on this forum. My 1988 home stereo obviously does not
function with todays 5.1 or 7.1 surround sound theatre systems.

I've always been interested in the Bose AM 10, but read on this forum
that it has a lot of short comings. I love crisp highs and thunderous crisp
well defined lows without a stitch of audible distortion. With a near cap
price range equal to the Bose AM, what would you suggest.

My home stereo comprises of component equipment that nearly
equals the price of the Bose, individually, so I really need to get
the most out of my money, trying to compliment video love
with audio love. I have:
Carver TFM-45 amp (Single 2ch 4 Ohm, idles @ 500W/ch @ 0db)
NAD 1700 pre amp
Acoustat 3300 speakers
Nakamichi CR 3A cassette, and CD, Denon Eq, B&O turntable and so on
to give you an idea of the quality I strive for in perhaps a class B history.
Though I'm not sure I can afford a class B theatre system nowadays.

I'm not going to be as crucial on the amp, as I have a wonderful 2 ch. amp for music.
I just want to strive for a speaker system that will deliver and mirror a decent amps
performance, hopefully capable of 20Hz lows, even though most audiophiles will never
reach that depth. I believe if the system is capable of lower ranges, it will have the reserve
to handle say 33Hz with less distortion, than a system that only has a 33Hz low cap.
Thanks

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Just a quick note for now, but others will most likely follow up.

That Bose system isn't fit to shine the shoes of your current system and that' not simply Bose bashing: It's a simple fact.

Also, from your stated expectations, it doesn't come close to them either.

What it I good for is non-critical listeners who want a small appliance that produces mediocre sound without drawing visual attention to itself.

Acoustat

Acoustat

Full Audioholic