M

mcb

Audiophyte
I am a newbie and hope someone can enlighten me. I have had an Elite VSX-94TXH for a few years now. I have done the auto speaker set-up and pretty much just watched my movies and enjoyed what I heard. I am now concerned I am not using the full power of this unit. I started looking at the manual and am totally confused by what I've read. How do you know what settings you should use for different venues? Is there some type of suggestion sheet to say try this for action movies or try this for tv? Does the unit have an automatic setting that will read some info to know what setting it should be?
The remote just blows my mind with all the buttons. I think I really went too far overboard when I bought this.
Pioneer techs haven't been much help. :eek:

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

This is the key to me - so far, you've enjoyed it. That is the most important thing to remember. The different available sound modes exist to help people enjoy their systems. I'd encourage you to try them out to see if you like one over the others, but you might not notice a lot of difference. Some of the sound modes are to convert the source audio so that it plays through more speakers (e.g. stereo sound to play through five speakers, or 5.1 audio to play through seven speakers).

I have a VSX-23, and I've found that I like the THX modes. That's just my personal preference, but it's what I like.