Upconversion question

S

sheap1

Audiophyte
I am new to all the video stuff. I am looking to get an AV receiver and see that the new Denon 2807 advertises upconversion to 1080i ( I think) for all analog sources and outputs to HDMI connector. I have a Sony 60XS955 TV with HDMI inputs so it would be nice to have 1 cable between the AV & TV. I also see that some new DVD players can do upconversion. Is there a preferred way to do this? I wonder what the value is on a receiver if the DVD player and I guess satellite boxes in the future will be able to output the high resolution?

Should I get a receiver with upconversion or not? If not I could get a lower cost receiver as I have external power amps. If so does anyone think there is a much better value than the 2807

jcPanny

jcPanny

Audioholic Ninja
Upconversion and upscalling

You are confusing two different features:

Video conversion or upconversion: The ability to take an inpur composite, s-video, or composite video signal and output over composite video, HDMI, or DVI cable. This does not improve the picture quality it only reduces the number of cables between the receiver and the TV.

Video upscaling: Conversion of a 480i or 480p input signal to 720p or 1080i over composite video or HDMI. Many new DVD players perform this function. The Yamaha RX-V2600 is the only receiver I am aware of that includes upscaling.

Also note, the upscalling DVD or receiver is only benificial if its scaler is better than that in your HDTV display. If you have satellite, the HD channels are output in 720p or 1080i from the cable box.

Buckeyefan 1

Buckeyefan 1

Audioholic Ninja
From CNET's site:
"it's (2807) slated to deliver the same sort of HDMI switching and 480p upconversion of analog video sources found on higher-priced Denon models such as the $2,000 AVR-4306."