Understanding KHZ HZ and crossover?

J

jeffvee

Audioholic
Ok, I'm sure I will be branded as a complete novice with these questions, but that's ok, because I am.

For instance when I'm shopping for loudspeakers or subwoofers, what specifications am I looking for in terms of the crossover, khz and hz. I really have no idea what these mean.:confused:

bsodmike

bsodmike

Audioholic Intern
I'd think that when you are thinking in terms of subs all frequencies below a certain frequency, the crossover frequency, are sent to the subwoofer. So lets say you set the crossover @ 80Hz, all frequencies below this will be sent to the sub.

What is a Hz? Stands for hertz, f=1/t, therefore 80Hz = 0.0125s for each period. A kHz simply means 1x10^3 Hz (that's 1 times 10 to the power 3) or 1000 Hz.

--Mike

Sheep

Sheep

Audioholic Warlord
Hz are another way of saying "Note"

The lower the Hz, the lower the note.

A subwoofer rated to go to 20Hz, will play lower then a subwoofer rated to 25Hz.

The human ear can only hear from 20Hz to 20Khz(the K means Killo, as in 1000, so 20Khz = 20000Hz).

Once subs Frequency responses go Below 20Hz, your really start to feel the bass because it is now inaudible to the ear.

All speakers should be able to play from 80Hz to 20Khz. If they can't, you should look at getting something different. Subwoofers are different. I personally say if it can't play 40Hz, its not a subwoofer. If I was you, I would look for response into the 20's in Hz.

SheepStar

Z

zumbo

Audioholic Spartan
Specs are going to be close on brands that are worthy of a listen. I wouldn't get too wrapped-up in that issue. Just listen. Pick the ones that sound best to you. But, definately pick mains that can play below 80Hz. GEEZ And, certainly be sure the sub makes it to 20Hz.

J

jeffvee

Audioholic
response q's

How do I know where I should set my crossover? Should it be at 80?

Mains playing below 80hz....where does that fall in the spec's below?