Super beginner here!

D

DustInTheWind

Audiophyte
Hi everyone, Jack here.

So here's the story. I'm completely new to speakers. I have a pair of sennheiser 598's that I used to run on an asus xonar essence st, but these day's I've got them on my laptop. :(

Anyway, I'm looking to drop around $1300 on a system. I'm fine with starting off with a simple 2.1, quality is more important to me right now, and I can always add more channels down the line.

The only things I've been looking at in depth are the klipsch rf-52's and the klipsch rw-12 (Which is on sale for $300 on newegg, and I have a number of newegg giftcards I could use.). I've also seen the fluance xl7f.

I don't really know! I need your guys' advice!

The room is 11' by 14'6".However, I'd like to get something I can put in a larger room in the future.

I listen to pretty much everything music wise. From Mendelssohn to Journey and Tech N9ne.

Music to gaming to movie ratio: 60:30:10

Audio source will be FLACs on my laptop.

Thank you for any advice you guys have, and for reading! :)

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
First of all, I don't think you will need tower speakers when you get a good sub. Tower speakers biggest advantage over bookshelf speakers is deeper bass extension, but if you are using a subwoofer, you won't be taking advantage of the tower's deeper extension if you set everything up correctly. Let the subwoofer handle the bass.