Subwoofer: Servo or not to Servo ....

avnetguy

avnetguy

Audioholic Chief
I'm new to this technology of using a Accelerometer to control/limit a subwoofer's driver but it does sound like a good idea.

My question is, how well does it work and which ones would you recommend for home theater use?

Steve

snickelfritz

snickelfritz

Junior Audioholic
I've had a Paradigm Servo-15 for a few years.
The bass is really clean (no doubling at all), plays really loud, and will not overload, bottom-out or emit bad sound.
Theoretically, servo-subs will start to compress sooner than standard subs though, since the Servo circuit will not allow more than 10% distortion.
(If you have a very large space, you might want two subs to avoid compression at high levels.)

In my 13x17x8 living room, there is nothing about this sub that I dislike and I have never reached its limits.
It sounds very realistic with music and shakes the foundation convincingly with dinosaur foot-stomps.

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
avnetguy said:
I'm new to this technology of using a Accelerometer to control/limit a subwoofer's driver but it does sound like a good idea.

My question is, how well does it work and which ones would you recommend for home theater use?

Steve
The effectiveness of the servo system is inversely proportional to the linearity of the transducer. The greater the linearity of the transducer motor, the less effect the servo system will have.

As for specific quantifications of commercial products using this technology: I am not aware of any quantitive tests regarding the matter[E.G.; analysis of performance of the subwoofer with and without the servo system engaged].

-Chris

snickelfritz

snickelfritz

Junior Audioholic
ie: the Servo checks the cone position 3500 times per second, then amplifier power is used to correct the frequency response, apply damping, and prevent the sub from exceeding 10% distortion or overloading.
It works.