Sub connection advice

M

mfontmt

Audioholic Intern
I recently purchased an EMP Tek 1010i Sub. It looks like it needs RCA plugs to connect to my receiver (Onkyo HT-R390). So, I bought some RCA phono plugs to attach to my 16 gauge speaker wire. Doing a search, there is a lot of how to links but I'm not very experienced in this area. The plugs I bought have two screws that appear to be there the hold the wires. One screw is on an inner metal cylinder The other is on the entry point to the plug (after the casing is unscrewed and removed,by the way). So, part of my question is do I just put one wire through this? Most of the online stuff say to connect a positive wire to one part of the plug and a negative to another. What confuses me is there is a spot for two RCA Plugs on the sub. If I use positive and negative on one plug, what would I use for the other. I guess it just doesn't make much sense to me.
The other part of my question is ...Is there any advice in general when doing this like warnings or such? To me, it seems like simply connecting the positive to one plug and screwing in the unsheathed wires and doing the same for the negative using the other plug? Am I wrong in assuming this?
Sorry in advance for the long post

J

jcl

Senior Audioholic
Here is a pdf to your avr manual - http://www.intl.onkyo.com/downloads/manuals/pdf/ht-r390_290_manual_e01.pdf

I'm afraid it doesn't look like you have a line level sub or lfe out.

Well now, the EMP website says your sub has speaker level inputs and outputs, but the manual doesn't make any mention of it.

I think you'll have to use the audio outs. See the bottom of page 15 titled "Connecting a Recording Component". Connect an rca cable from those jacks to the stereo l/r inputs on the sub. You'll be sending a full range signal to the sub, not using any base management in the avr, so you'll have to experiment more with the crossover and volume settings on the sub.

Last edited:
AverageJoe

AverageJoe

Full Audioholic