Stereo setup recomendations

J

Josh784

Junior Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>I'm very new to this hifi scene. &nbsp;I've never owned hifi speakers before, but I'm looking to start now. &nbsp;I want to build a stereo system for my room, and have about an $800 ceiling.

I've pretty much decided to go with Axiom speakers, either the m2ti or m3ti. &nbsp;I've heard the m2ti's would be better if one is planning on using a sub, and the m3ti's if one was not. &nbsp;I'd like to be able to use a sub, if that would be possible with my budget. &nbsp;I have no idea where to go on subs, obviously I don't want to spend too much, but something that would fit the speakers well is what I'm looking for.

I've heard people speak of both receivers and amps. &nbsp;Would I be better off to go with a receiver with an integrated amp, or just an standalone amp? &nbsp;I understand you can only have one. &nbsp;Question I have here: would a sub have a built in amp, or would that also be powered by the receiver/amp, and if so would it receive the same wattage as each speaker, or would it be allotted more? &nbsp;As for my use, for a while I will just be playing CD's, but I also may want to hook the system up to my TV from time to time, and may eventually buy a dedicated TV for it. &nbsp;

This brings me to the second object I'll need: a CD player. &nbsp;Obviously I'd like to be able to play DVD's as well, and MP3s wouldn't hurt either. &nbsp;Does the player really matter that much: do I need to spend $300 on it as I have been recommended, or could I be fine with something around the $100 mark. &nbsp;I've looked around on ebay and there seem to be some decent players on there for about that, such as the YAMAHA DV-S5650 for $140, but like I said I'm very new to this so I wouldn't probably know a good player if I saw one.

I've figured about $50 for cable, and I plan on making my own mounts, as I am a proficient handyman.