Starting a home theater Company.

A

AudioAddict32

Audiophyte
I have been doing audio for many years now.And i have grown especially fond of Solving problems with superior design with superior products. I was wondering if any audiophiles have a preference for a particular subwoofer box alignment, and why? there are so many other designs to use besides sealed or ported. Why not use them is the question.All feedback is appreciated.

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
I have been doing audio for many years now.And i have grown especially fond of Solving problems with superior design with superior products. I was wondering if any audiophiles have a preference for a particular subwoofer box alignment, and why? there are so many other designs to use besides sealed or ported. Why not use them is the question.All feedback is appreciated.
I suggest you start anything as a small business and do your homework. If you are starting a company that sells subs you need to start doing enough research to answer these questions yourself.

Tapped Horns are IMO the best design I've seen in years they require big boxes, but an 8" driver of the right type could give you plenty down to 20hz.

Porting requires huge boxes, but give you incredible extension for the cheapest price. In subs getting a large enough port is a challenge.

Sealed designs give you the smaller box require for most living rooms and the most head room in the upper region.

P-Rs give you a smaller box, but usually cost more combined than an extra driver.

In a dedicated room a multisub ported setup is desired.

In a living room a small sealed sub is desired.

In a massive space a horn loaded is desired.

jinjuku

jinjuku

With all respect, given the nature of your question, I would start out by working for another Home Theater Company and learn the ropes first.

I wouldn't expect going to enthusiast forums and spoon feeding to translate all that well into professional installation.

J

jamie2112

Banned