Small Bookshelf Speakers ~300

C

charger5674

Junior Audioholic
Hi, I'm new to the a/v world and need some help. I have been lurking for about a week on avs, audioholics and hometheaterforum. During that time I researched some bookshelf speakers and am having a hard time deciding. My budget is around 300 pr (~700 for 5.0, will go B stock) and I would like to mount them to the ceiling or wall. My preferences are about 95% movies/5% music. My room size is 16x18x12. I already have a klipsch rw-12d and denon avr 1713. Also, my preferred size would be less than 12x9x9.

My researched speakers are:

1) Ascend HTM 200SE's
2) Cambridge S30 (no holes in back for mounting)
3) PSB Image B4
4) Energy CB-10's
5) Klipsch RB-41 II (Interested in the horn)
6) NHT Absolute Zero/Sub zero combo (try to find them for around 300 pr, most expensive)

If there are others, it would be appreciated if mentioned.

PS I have uploaded the same topic on Audioholics, AVS and Home Theater Forums. Just like a doctor's diagnosis, I want to see different opinions. Thanks!

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I have heard a lot of good things about the Cambridge, I guess that would be my first choice in that bunch. If you are seated a good distance away from the speakers, the Klipsch might be better, but I think if the listening position is less than, say 12 or 13 ft away from the speakers, I would choose the s30.

M

MidnightSensi2

Audioholic Chief
Tricky, because budgets are budgets, but, if you save up and get great speakers, they last you a really long time and end up saving you money (trying a bunch of budget ones ends up costing more than just buying the right one once)..

That said...

I haven't heard the PSBs, Cambridge or Ascends ... I strangely have heard 4-6 (that's rare, usually what people list I might have heard one...so much out there now).

I'd go with the Klipsch. I was pleasantly surprised by the RB-41 II's sound.

Some reasons for my choice:
1. Simply a great value