Seeking Advice on Home Theater Speaker Setup for Renovation Project MartinLogan

J

joogle

Audiophyte
Hi - I have never had a surround sound or home theater system.

I am doing a renovation to our home, and I was able to get a good deal on a Martin Logan FX100.

The room is above a garage, and my plan is to install an 83" OLED TV and then build a custom cabinet where I can have a UST projector for a 120" screen. The UST is an AWOL 2500, which I was able to get at a discount over time.

Now, I have absolutely zero experience with sound, and other than the TV speakers, I've never used anything before.

My questions are:

1. If I install FX100 left and right speakers, how beneficial would it be to get a center speaker? Or will the left and right speakers be able to handle the sound effectively?
  2. I've seen a 5.1 setup where there are main side surround speakers. I can open up the floor and run the cable through to the side walls. I was thinking of installing wall speakers for that situation if I go down that route, but one side of my side wall is not well-suited for wall speakers, so I may just use bookshelf speakers. In that case, should I get the ML B10 or B100? That way, the speakers would match the set.
Basically, I am trying to decide if the two front tower speakers would provide a great experience or if I should consider adding a center channel speaker. Alternatively, should I get main side bookshelf speakers for a full 5.1 setup? I wouldn't like the speakers to stick out, so I am reluctant to go with that route.

FYI - I don't have attic access to this room.

ML3.jpg
ML1.jpg
ML2.jpg

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
I would definitely get the F100, C100, and B100.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member