Running component video through receiver

M

millsryno

Audiophyte
OK, I have searched the forum and got some good info on video up converting. I did not see a specific answer to my question, however. I know, I know, total noob question here but I thought I might as well ask instead of be sorry after it is too late.

I have just installed a new Panasonic TH-42PWD7UY plasma on my wall. I just got a new Scientific Atlanta 8300HD PVR from my cable company. I currently have a new-in-box Yammy HTR-5740 and I plan on purchasing a DVD player.

The plasma only has one component input. The HTR-5740 has two component inputs and one component output. I was thinking my best results would be to wire the PVR and DVD player into the receiver using component cables and then run the component out to the plasma from the receiver. This receiver does not have video up converting. I am assuming that since I have only component cables coming in and a component cable going out, upconverting will not matter at all. Is this correct?

As for audio, I am assuming I will get my best results by connecting the PVR and DVD to the receiver with optical digital inputs. The receiver has 2 optical inputs and one coaxial input. Is either optical or coaxial better? I looked at DVD players tonight and it seemed like they all had coaxial but not all of them had optical.

The only other thing I would imagine plugging in would be my PS2.

Thanks in advance for any input!

H

hopjohn

Full Audioholic
millsryno said:
The plasma only has one component input. The HTR-5740 has two component inputs and one component output. I was thinking my best results would be to wire the PVR and DVD player into the receiver using component cables and then run the component out to the plasma from the receiver. This receiver does not have video up converting. I am assuming that since I have only component cables coming in and a component cable going out, upconverting will not matter at all. Is this correct?