redoing my home theater.

pddufrene

pddufrene

Audioholic
I'm not looking to spend a fortune but I would like my system to sound good. I had a Bose lifestyle 12 system for many years now, it finally died so I get to start from scratch. After hearing other systems that cost a lot less than the one I had I'm looking forward to making a huge improvement. I'm about to buy a Yamaha av receiver in the next couple weeks, but from there I'm not sure which way to turn. I still have all my speakers from the Bose unit, and I'm hoping to be able to use the center and surround speakers for now till I can afford to up grade those as well. Any suggestions on what I can use for the left and right front channels, as well as a subwoofer to get started? I'm new to all this piecing together stuff so what ever help yall could give would be appreciated. Thanks

A

ACsGreens

Full Audioholic
I like Yamaha receivers and there are a lot of them that work quite well for a home theater setting. The Bose, however, I do not like and you won't be able to incorporate them into the current system. Those are small satellite speakers that will most likely fry if you hook them up to a standard receiver as they need a crossover, which was previously housed in your "bass module" to regulate them. You will be amazed by how much better pretty much any speaker sounds compared to Bose. Do you need smallish speakers, if so then there are quite a few options, such as the Take Classic by Energy, Energy : Take Classic : TK-CLASSI-5-1 which would sound 100x better than your current setup. I am not saying that to bad mouth your previous set up, I have an Accoustimas 10 set, but that sits in the garage, i think. Were you unhappy with the sound, the level, or both?

pddufrene

pddufrene

Audioholic