Question about building speakers

H

hrtbeat2

Audioholic
I'm very new at this Home/Audio stuff, and building as I go. I was thinking of doing my own center channel speaker with speakers I was going to buy. I was looking at using B&W 4inch with a pair of Dynaudio tweeters. Could I buy a box with these size openings and place the speakers in or will I need to buy a crossover also?

Dan

Dan

Audioholic Chief
There is a lot more to building speakers than putting drivers in a box. Center channels can be especially tricky since they need to be reasonably well matched to the front speakers especially in the midranges. You don't say what your main speakers are. In addition, the speaker must be sheided if near a cathode ray tube or the magnets will mess up your picture.

If you are new to speaker building I recommend "speaker building 201" by Ray Alden available through www.partsexpress.com. The book goes through the physics in a reasonable manner if you have had math through trig and some physics of electronics. You can still manage it if you haven't. The book includes instructions for several types of speakers including a five channel set up and a subwoofer.

Speakers that sound good are a bit tricky but are certainly doable. I recommend that anyone jusst starting out adhere to a well proven design and gradually learn to modify with the experience gained.

H

hrtbeat2

Audioholic
So are you saying with this book I could reproduce a speaker that is in the book including crossover configurations? I been doing some reading and I think that (crossover) would be the hardest part for me. I will give it a shot. if anyone has this book and they no longer are using it I would buy it off of them? Thanks again.

Dan

Dan

Audioholic Chief