Projector for patio big screen

S

Sounds Good

Senior Audioholic
I have no previous experience or knowledge of projectors so I am hopping you guys can help me out.

I am looking to set up a screen in my backyard. I'll prob feed it with a Appletv or BDP. For audio I'll use my existing patio speakers.

I am sure there are killer deals to be found on Craigslist but not being familiar with models I am kind of lost.

Thanks group.

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
Which projector to get depends on light levels. If it's all dark midnight viewing your selection would be different than if you are trying to do some daytime thing.

My suggestion is that you simply use a large TV. I love projectors, but they are a lot of work to setup and dial in properly. TVs take very little effort to move these days and will look fine even at dusk. Plus you don't have to worry about light control.

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
I have no previous experience or knowledge of projectors so I am hopping you guys can help me out.

I am looking to set up a screen in my backyard. I'll prob feed it with a Appletv or BDP. For audio I'll use my existing patio speakers.

I am sure there are killer deals to be found on Craigslist but not being familiar with models I am kind of lost.

Thanks group.
Is this a temporary installation? When do you plan to watch, late at night? How large of an image?
Patio speakers, will that be behind the viewers or the screen is where the speakers are and viewers someplace in the yard looking towards the patio?

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
There is a lot of information about 'backyard projection' out there. But, the key factors are ambient light. You can't use a projector during the daytime. Even at 'dusk' things get tricky. So, it's after dark usage exclusively.