Problems with 1.85:1 resolution on Sony 50" SXRD

B

bruceh

Junior Audioholic
Widescreen newbie here. I bought this tv figuring it would look fantastic on DVD's. It does with 2.35: 1 resolution, but not with 1.85:1, as the image is very soft and lacks contrast. Am I missing something here? I'm sitting about 8-1/2 feet from the screen. 1.85 always looked fantastic on my Toshiba 38" CRT. Help please!

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
bruceh said:
Widescreen newbie here. I bought this tv figuring it would look fantastic on DVD's. It does with 2.35: 1 resolution, but not with 1.85:1, as the image is very soft and lacks contrast. Am I missing something here? I'm sitting about 8-1/2 feet from the screen. 1.85 always looked fantastic on my Toshiba 38" CRT. Help please!

This are picture ratios, not resolutions. Perhaps you were not watching an anamorphic 1.85 disc? Not all DVDs are created equal. Can your DVD player up-sample it to 780p or something?

B

bruceh

Junior Audioholic
mtrycrafts said:
This are picture ratios, not resolutions. Perhaps you were not watching an anamorphic 1.85 disc? Not all DVDs are created equal. Can your DVD player up-sample it to 780p or something?
Thanks for the feedback. The DVD's at issue here are 1.78:1 aspect ratio, which is what most concert DVD's are presented in. That ratio gives you a full widescreen. Anyway on my Sony SXRD 50", you get a somewhat soft, unfocused image. One person said I may need to sit further away from the screen because for 480i resolution you should be 4X the diagonal lenth of the screen away, so that is part of the problem. Could you recommend a good upscaling DVD player - or do you have one?

T

twheeloc

Audioholic Intern
Resolution vs. Aspect