Onkyo TX-SR 705

Discussion in 'Amps, Pre-Pros & Receivers' started by sarod@comcast.n, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. sarod@comcast.n Audiophyte

    sarod@comcast.n
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 707 is always showing PCM insted od Digital can someone tell me how to reset. I did it before but forgot how to do it ?
  2. sarod@comcast.n Audiophyte

    sarod@comcast.n
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    insted of bitstream, My mistake.
  3. Nomo Audioholic Samurai

    Nomo
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wearin' the Fox Hat :)
    Just a guess, but it sounds like you're talking about the DVD or BD/HD DVD input?
    If so, the problem is not with the receiver.

    Set the output on your player to Bitstream.
    Nomo,
  4. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12,107
    Likes Received:
    4,876
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    I don't understand. PCM is pulse code modulation, which is digital.
  5. sarod@comcast.n Audiophyte

    sarod@comcast.n
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    on the SR-705 there is a way to reset this and I forgot how to do this because I had this problem before.With the set up, everything is set upfor bitstream on the player.
  6. MDS Audioholic Spartan

    MDS
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,691
    Likes Received:
    863
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Reset what? What do you mean by 'the receiver is showing PCM instead of bitstream'?

    If you are using a dvd player and it is set to output bitstream then the input on the receiver must be assigned to whatever digital input you connected to and the format must be set to Auto. Auto is the default so you shouldn't have to change it. You press the digital input button on the front of the receiver until it shows 'opt1' or whatever input you used.
    MDS,
  7. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12,107
    Likes Received:
    4,876
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    What trouble are you having? If the player in is sending bit stream data, then the digital PCM decoder in the receiver will decode it, as long as you have the input port correctly assigned.
  8. chuckclymer Audiophyte

    chuckclymer
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Onkyo TX-SR 705 Settings

    Can someone tell me how to reset my receiver to it's original factory settings? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!
  9. TLS Guy Audioholic Overlord

    TLS Guy
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    12,107
    Likes Received:
    4,876
    Location:
    Benedict MN
    What trouble are you having? You should not have to do a reset for the problems you reported before. That should be a last resort. I don't have one of those units, but everything you need should be in the user manual.
  10. Nomo Audioholic Samurai

    Nomo
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wearin' the Fox Hat :)
    Nomo,
  11. MDS Audioholic Spartan

    MDS
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,691
    Likes Received:
    863
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The answer to how to reset the receiver to factory defaults is on the last page of the manual.
    MDS,

Share This Page

  • rbhsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • Emotiva.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA