Newbie here for some help on everything really. Jumping into HTS world.

I

itsAllGreek

Enthusiast
I have just recently left the "dark ages" of home theater when I upgraded from a 0 def TV (Sony Videoscope XBR Big Screen 52") that I have had since I purchased my house in '96 to a 55" Samsung flat screen TV. Now I want purchase a home theater system. I am new to this world and need all the help I can get. I have been reading various opinions about how much one should spend and what are good speakers and receivers. I realize that this is all subjective like ice cream. I guess I'm just a little over whelmed now that I learned that there was more than vanilla out there :).

I had my house pre wired for a HTS even though I have a vaulted ceiling in the family room where this system will go and it is open to the kitchen. I will need to have speakers mounted on the walls

After looking at different speakers and listening to some at local retailers I was going back and forth between BestBuy who showed me 2 different products.

1. Bowers & Wilkins MT-50 satellite speaker system which is $250 a piece for each (5 total) 4" satellite speaker= $1,250 + Bowers & Wilkins 10" 200 watt Sub for $650 or the REL T-5 sub for $700 for a total of $1,900 (give or take 50 depending on the sub)

2. Martin & Logan Motion 2 3 1/2" speakers at $200 a piece for a total of $800 with the Motion 6 3 1/2" center channel speaker $300 = $1,100 + Martin Logan "Dynamo" 600 watt 10" Sub $700 or the REL T-5 sub for $700 that they all seem to love at BestBuy for a total speaker expense of $1,800 (or $1,850 with the REL)