New Speakers/Monitors

M

Malazan

Enthusiast
Hi, I would like some suggestions on Bookshelf Speakers. The room will be about 10x12, my budget is 600.00 or less

I'm pretty new at all of this, and a little confused about Monitors vs. Speakers:confused: I always thought they were the same.

I don't know if I need active or passive? They will mostly be used for playing Rocksmith 2014, but also my music, gaming and and possibly my guitar work if I get an effects processor.

Thank you

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Effectively, they are different words for the same thing.

Active means you just need the right connection types to plug into their inputs. Passive means you have a receiver/amp already to power them. Passive is more common and active, depending on what you're really looking for, will tend to be more expensive because they are amplified (but then you don't need a receiver/amp obviously). What do you have already?

M

Malazan

Enthusiast
If I go passive, I will want an amplifier. Would 600.00 dollars be enough for a decent pair of Active Monitors? Or should I get a cheaper pair of passives say 300.00 and an amp such as the Emotiva UPA-200?

M

Malazan

Enthusiast
I would run it out of my line out on my PC sound card to the UPA-200

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I own the passive versions of those Behringers, very good for the price. You can get the passive versions for $220 a pair at the moment, that is a terrific price for them.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Back when I was in a super cool industrial band we used these for desktop mixing:

Amazon.com: Behringer TRUTH B2031A Active 2-Way Reference Studio Monitor Pair: Musical Instruments

They were very good for the price, IMO. They are active, and have some bass boundary compensation. XLR and 1/4" inputs as well.
Those are the same thing I already linked above :)

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
and possibly my guitar work if I get an effects processor.