Need advice on first ever home theater

B

bubbrik

Audioholic Intern
Hi all

I am in the process of finishing a room in my unfinished basement as a dedicated home theater room. I've been reading up on this forum and learned quite a bit since this is my first time attempting a home theater build. The more I read, the more confused I got with making my gear selection. So, I decided to join the forum and ask the experts for advice.

I've tried to capture the room dimensions in the attached picture. I don't have any gear at all. I would like to keep my budget up to $5K.

Could you please advice options for the following:

Receiver
Speakers for Atmos 5.2.4 setup
- prefer to have in wall speakers for surround
- prefer to have in ceiling speakers for height
Projector (plan to place this on top of the door to the storage room - shown in the second picture)
Screen

I don't plan to have formal home theater style seating in the room.

This may be off topic but should I go for 8ft uniform ceiling height across the whole room or is there an advantage to have 9ft ceiling height for half of the room?

If I'm off track with what anything I stated, please correct me as I'm new to all this.

Thank you all so much for helping me with this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
For the projector, the Panasonic PT-AE8000U would be a good choice. At 22 feet, it'll project on any size screen from 112" diagonal (98" wide) to the limit of horizontal width of your screen wall. Play with this projection calculator. We'll estimate $400 for a DIY screen (material from Carl's Place + wood frame + L brackets and screws from Lowe's + black velvet tape border + a string of $20 LED lights to line the back edge if you feel like it). *shrug* That'll leave you around $2800 for speakers and AVR.