Matching 3 ohms speaker to reciever

C

Csar09

Audiophyte
Hello,
I am a newbie audioholic trying to recycle my Samsung HT-BD2 7.1 channel speakers (3 ohm each), and I am planning on buying a Yamaha RX-V581. Simple question: is it posible to use those speakers (1 center, 2 front and 2 surround + 1 subwoofer, for that reciever?

These are the speakers ratings: every tallboy is 3ohm (inside are 2 8-ohm speakers plus 1 12-ohm tweeter in parallel (i guess) totaling those 3 ohm), frequency range 140Hz-50KHz, rated input 135W and max input 270W.

The Subwoofer is 8ohm, 35Hz-160Hz, rated input 155Hz.

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Hello,
I am a newbie audioholic trying to recycle my Samsung HT-BD2 7.1 channel speakers (3 ohm each), and I am planning on buying a Yamaha RX-V581. Simple question: is it posible to use those speakers (1 center, 2 front and 2 surround + 1 subwoofer, for that reciever?

These are the speakers ratings: every tallboy is 3ohm (inside are 2 8-ohm speakers plus 1 12-ohm tweeter in parallel (i guess) totaling those 3 ohm), frequency range 140Hz-50KHz, rated input 135W and max input 270W.

The Subwoofer is 8ohm, 35Hz-160Hz, rated input 155Hz.
No it is not. You need new speakers. It is seldom possible to salvage anything from an HTIB. Those speakers are not worth the time of day anyway.

A receiver can not drive that sub. Receivers require a powered subwoofer.

C

Csar09

Audiophyte
mmmm, it was still good while it last. It supported Dolby True and DTS HD, and better than anything right now out there for the same price. But the subwoofer suddenly stopped working, still produced a sound when making a bad contact but no sound comes out of it while conmected to the amplifier. Changed RCA and still the same. Was hopping to get at keast 2 more years with it when ATMOS and DTS X soundbar are affordable.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi