Looking to upgrade A/V receiver, but…

jpmays

jpmays

Audiophyte
:confused: Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie to this forum, and also my knowledge of A/V issues is very limited at best, so I'm hoping one or more of you audiophiles can answer a question or two I have regarding upgrading my current HT receiver.

I currently have an HTIB (Home Theater in a Box) set up; a "Sony HT-SS2300 Blu-Ray Home Theater System", that provides A/V for a VIZIO Smart HDTV, LG Blu-Ray Player, and DirecTV HD DVR. I've had this system for about six years, but I'm looking to start upgrading my various components, starting with my receiver.

I'm considering purchasing either the "Sony STS-DN840 A/V Receiver (w/built-in Wi-Fi, airplay, & Bluetooth)", mainly because of the streamlined remote control, or the "Sony STS-DN1040 A/V Receiver (w/built-in Wi-Fi, airplay, & Bluetooth)", which is last year's model and about $150 cheaper and has seven HDMI outputs but the remote is not as streamlined, and is more complicated than the STS-DN840.

At any rate, my questions are of this:

1. Are any of you familiar with one or both of these systems, and if so what do you like/dislike about them?

2. Because my current A/V receiver is a Sony, but I be able to simply use my current speakers, which are a 5.1 surround sound, by unplugging from this receiver and plugging them into the new one, or will I need to replace the connectors and/or wiring in order to utilize my existing speakers?

Any additional hints, tips and/or suggestions you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

HAPPY LISTENING,
/jp/

S

scott210

Audiophyte
Hey JP - connectors for those speakers might pose a problem. My Samsung speakers to Sony AV rec I had to buy new connectors.

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai