Infinity Primus tweeter problems

K

Krusty Blade

Audioholic Intern
Why do i keep blowing my tweeters, this is the 2nd time now on my mains?

its phillip

its phillip

Audioholic Ninja
I'm no expert, but how loud are you listening to stuff?

GranteedEV

GranteedEV

Audioholic Ninja
You're probably listening to electronic music content with very high SPL content above 8khz. Since the tweeter is very small and will not be moving very much at those frequencies, it won't adequately vent itself.

...just a guess.

... that or you've blown a capacitor in series with the tweeter.

K

Krusty Blade

Audioholic Intern
Yup, I was listening to some trance music, at very high volume both times the tweeters popped.

GranteedEV

GranteedEV

Audioholic Ninja
Yup, I was listening to some trance music, at very high volume both times the tweeters popped.
Electronic music is a killer for inexpensive direct radiators. You will probably want some compression drivers like the CHT SHO-10 speakers. Not only will it significantly reduce your likelyhood of blowing tweeters, but you will find music to be less "busy-sounding" at high SPLs, because the speakers won't be as stressed.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I've listened to all kinds of electronic music at very loud volumes on my p362s and haven't had any problems. You must have had those things really cranked hard, in any normal room that would be hearing damage loudness.

GranteedEV

GranteedEV

Audioholic Ninja
I've listened to all kinds of electronic music at very loud volumes on my p362s and haven't had any problems. You must have had those things really cranked hard, in any normal room that would be hearing damage loudness.
A few factors play into it...