Incompatible audio signal

K

Kentucky Bill

Audiophyte
I just installed an Onkyo TXSR507 home theater receiver and hooked it up to a sharp tv using a HDMI cable. Everything seems to work ok on the TV and sound system, but every time I turn the TV on I get the following message on the screen: "An incompatible audio signal has been received. Check the output device settings."

I do not have clue as to what settings to check. AS you may guess by now, I am not a techie.

Any advice, please??? :confused:
Thanks

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum, Bill!

The Onkyo allows you to send an audio stream over HDMI to the TV, but it won't play audio out of the speakers connected to the Onkyo if you set it up that way. I'm assuming that you want to listen to the audio through the speakers connected to the Onkyo and don't want to listen through your TV speakers. So, I'm focused at the moment at fixing this at the TV instead of doing that.

To help troubleshoot the TV, what is the model number of your Sharp TV?

K

Kentucky Bill

Audiophyte
The Sharp model is LC-52sb57un. The sound from the TV comes out of the speakers now. Thanks for the help.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
I'd like to get some more details so that I understand how you have things connected and how you want things to work.
  • When you say that the sound from the TV comes out of the speakers, do you mean that you are running the audio from the TV through the speakers connected to the Onkyo? Or do you mean that you are using the speakers on the TV to listen to things?
  • How do you have the receiver connected to the TV?
  • What other components are connected (e.g. cable box, DVD player, blu-ray player)?
Thanks.

njedpx3

njedpx3

Audioholic General