Importance of matching?

O

opinion8d

Audiophyte
I'm a newbie but I've been trying to read up a lot recently...

Had an opportunity to pick up a non-matching set of Energy speakers and was wondering what is the consensus of having a non-matched set on sound quality?

Center: Energy CC3
Fronts: Energy C-7
Rears: Energy XL-250

I know the XL-250 as tower rears is unconventional but the price was comparable to picking up 2 C-3 speakers and the stands for them. I was even considering the RC-30s but the wife didn't like the looks of them. :(

I just picked up a Panny XR-55 as well and am wondering since it is a 7.1, is it possible/advisable to bi-amp, bi-wire the fronts?

For what it's worth, I'm probably 90% ht, 5% audio, 5% gaming.

Thanks!

Sheep

Sheep

Audioholic Warlord
What are you saying here....:confused:

Is the XL speaker the one that doesn't match?

Need some more explaining.

SheepStar

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
opinion8d said:
I'm a newbie but I've been trying to read up a lot recently...

Had an opportunity to pick up a non-matching set of Energy speakers and was wondering what is the consensus of having a non-matched set on sound quality?

Thanks!
Your front speakers should all be the same (left, right, and center). Some people like the same speaker used for the mains, to be used as the center channel. Some like to use a reg. center channel. The rears can be different speakers then the mains, but you should really try to keep them the same as the fronts. (Ex--Paradigm Studio 20's for the front 3, and Mini-Monitor's for the rears.)

Geno

Geno

Senior Audioholic