Home A/V setup question - pre-wired speakers

B

bankerBilo

Audiophyte
Hi,

I recently moved into a house with pre-wired speakers. I am a total newbie and really confused about how the previous owner's setup looked like.

In the media room's closet, there are 10 speaker wires (2 bundles of 5 wires each) with banana plugs coming out of the wall (I am assuming these are connected to the 5 ceiling speakers in the media room. In addition to these speaker wires with banana plugs, there is a wall plate with 18 speaker bindings (9 pairs of black + red) and a subwoofer binding, as well as 3 cat5 ports and two TV antenna bindings. I must also add there is an additional 4 speaker bindings (2 pairs of black and red) in the same wall plate as the speaker wires with banana plugs coming out. Attached is a picture:

MediaRoomCloset.jpg

In the living room, there are 10 speaker wires (2 bundles of 5 wires each) with banana plugs coming out of the wall. Plus, there is a wall plate with 14 speaker bindings (7 pairs) plus a subwoofer binding, 2 TV antenna bindings and 3 cat5 ports.

Now to the number of speakers in the house.

5 in the media room + 2 in the outside patio adjacent to the media room

5 in the living room + 2 in the balcony

1 in the guest bathroom

2 in the guest bedroom.

Oh, and 2 in the garage :) The previous owner must have really liked to listen to music everywhere.

The master bed and bath were wired as well but their speaker wires are bare and there is no wall plate in the master bedroom. There are however, bunch of extra wires besides the 7 speaker wires (5in bedroom 2 in bathroom) that I don't know what to do with.

If I want to hookup a sound system to this setup, what would I need? 3 different receivers? Why are there both "wires with banana plugs plus" and a wall plate? What are the cat5 ports for? I would like to have multi-zone system but I am guessing it is not possible with the wiring.