HK AVR630 vs Yamaha 5790 and 1500...

A

armaraas

Full Audioholic
Hello everyone, a newbie here. I’ve been watching this board for a while and have found a lot of great and helpful posts. Well, now I guess it’s time for me to actually post a question and hope I can get some good advice or opinions. I’ve been checking out what’s available for receivers for some time now, and as usually happens when you look too much you end up buying something that wasn’t planned. I found a Harman Kardon 630 at a local big box store for $600, it was an open box. They had 2 actually, one was being used in a demo room, and another just sitting on a shelf not even hooked up. They had no new ones, so I assume they are getting ready for the new model. I picked the one on the shelf not connected even though it had a couple of minor dings. I figured since it’s already open, I might as well as buy it and demo it at home for a few weeks to see if I can tell a difference.