High End Speakers for Music $1000-$2000

C

chitownaudio

Audiophyte
Hi everyone,

I'm new to high-end audio and looking to make my first good speaker purchase. Hoping for some of your thoughts. I'm looking for floorstanders, new, in the $1000-$2000 range. Mainly for listening to music. I will have it connected to my home theatre setup, but 2 channel music is way more important to me. I primarily listen to classical, jazz and standards with an occasional pop/rock cd. The speakers will initially be paired with an Onkyo HT-R640 receiver (although I plan to upgrade this in the future when financially able).

As for what I've heard:
B&W: 683, 684, CM9
psb: Image T6, Synchrony 1
Monitor Audio: Silver RX6

I liked the RX6, the 683 (the CM9 was nice too, but too much for me and not sure that I thought it was worth twice the cost of the 683), and the psb Synchrony (really nice speaker but way out of my price range). So right now it seems to be down to the 683 or the RX6.
So really two questions:
1. Of the speakers I've heard which do you think is the best for music?
2. Any other speakers I should consider? I've read good things about Dali, Focal, KEF, Paradigm, Revel, and Totem.

Obviously I need to listen and decide for myself, but I don't have a trained ear and I'm not exactly sure what to listen for. Just thought some of you might have some input. Thanks in advance!

J

jostenmeat

Audioholic Spartan
LOL, of the stated models, the Synchrony 1, but that is WAY more expensive than the other models. :eek:

Check out instead the less expensive Imagine series to bring it back into budget.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
I heard a lots of good things about PSB and their measurements are very good.
I think lower series of B&W might not quite measure up to some ID companies.
IF your are serious about 2k budget you should definitely checkout Jim Salk's SongTowers.

For best value thou - DIY kits would be cheapest way to go to get best possible sound on budget