Help with Speaker selection, 4k budget.

T

teedoff00

Audiophyte
Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to home stereo and home theater setup but come from a strong car stereo back ground.

I just bought a house that has a room that will be my home theater. The room is smallish (13.5 x 14.5) see attached rough drawing. Acoustically, I think this room may be challanging...

I'd like advice of how you'd set it up, which system you'd by and why. I have a budget of about 4k for speakers and avr.

I've research a lot of brands over the last few days and am leaning towards getting the SVS prime towers, center and satellitesurrounds in a 5.2 with dual pb-1000s. I thought about the pb-2000s but I think it would be too much for the space and I think duals are the way to go. I have a friend that really thinks I ought to skip the more expensive satellites and go with something like the Tekton Pendragons or "spend more on the 2.2". This system will be used about 95% for movies/tv.

I was thinking the new Denon x3300w would be a nice fit for the SVS and would power them fine with their Sensitivity rating of 86dB. Or I could get a refurbished Denon x6200w or the 4520cl.

I have a 2015 70" Vizio m-series that will be going with it. So looking at the picture (the second measurements are anticipated listening distances depending on where tv is placed), where would you place the TV and 2.2s? And any other systems that would be a better fit for the money? Are the primes overkill for such a small space?

Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated.

Attachments

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I would go for bookshelf speakers in that room. Tower speakers would be wasted in there. I would go for sealed subs in that room also. For SVS, I would think about the Prime bookshelf speakers and a pair of SB2000s. I would also be looking at setups from EMP Tek, Hsu Research, and Ascend Acoustics/Rythmik Audio.