Help with amp for 3-way setup

G

Goochtoucher

Audioholic Intern
Hi, this is my first post and I am a complete novice when it comes to choosing/setting up any speakers that don't come sold all in one.
I have been doing a lot of research from various websites and forums and I have changed my mind many times, but here is what I believe I have settled on:
JBL ES30 (pair) + JBL Studio 1 CCH Centre or JBL EC25 Centre, there will be a sub added into the mix when I work out the remaining budget.
What I can't work out is what type of amp I connect the speakers to? - Do 3-way speakers still go into a 2x Channel amp?
Should I get a separate active sub?
I was looking at the T.Amp E800 - Is this the correct amount of power? Too little for the three speakers? Not enough channels?
Any help would be appreciated as I am fast running out of places to look.
Thanks in advance.

My budget is <£500 (I live in the U.K so anything I buy has to be available here)

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
It doesn't matter how many drivers are in a speaker, it is effectively a single unit. Each speaker needs just one channel of power in a typical setup, with the exception of the sub which should have a built in amp.

There are some speakers that have dual binding posts that may be disconnected from the other for the highs and lows so separate amplification could be run to each, however they are still driven by the same channel information, just by separate amp channels. This is more of a marketing thing than a useful one though.

Crackerballer

Crackerballer

Senior Audioholic
To give you some more info, get a quality AV receiver. Denon, Yamaha, Marantz, Onkyo all make good offerings that will handle your inputs and amplification in one.
With that setup, a nice entry level receiver will be more than adequate. Will this be part of a surround sound system, mainly for music, computer, etc?

G

Goochtoucher

Audioholic Intern
Wow you guys reply fast :)