help setting up home audio

B

bshipper

Audiophyte
Hello,
I'm new to this kind of stuff and haven't been able to set it up right. No good idea's and don't know where to start looking so i thought i'd just ask and hope somebody knows what i need to do or extra stuff i need to get.

I have a computer that's hooked up to my tv via dvi to hdmi cable. The video card is an older nvidia 7900 or something so no hdmi out to get the audio to the tv, so i thought i'd hook the audio straight to the receiver. the receiver is sony str-k790 and i have an older 5.1 sony speaker setup. I have a 3.5 audio cable from the computer split to rca going to the receiver. I setup windows 7 to run 5.1 channel speaker setup.

The problem is i get good sound out of the left front speaker but all the other speakers are super quiet. I can only hear them if i unplug the left front speaker and it's very faint and far away sounding.

What do i need to do to set this up correctly?

Ponzio

Ponzio

Audioholic Samurai
You need to make sure that your 3.5mm male plug, connected to the audio out of the MB/sound card is a stereo connector. Verify that the male plug end is flush with the audio I/O out. Also rotate the male plug end manually, to make sure your connection is making solid contact with the internal contacts.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

Is this what the back of your Sony receiver looks like? If so, you don't have 5.1 analog inputs, so you used a 3.5mm to stereo RCA cable - correct? A couple of things come to mind in addition to what Ponzio said, so I have some comments/questions:

1. Windows should be set up for stereo output.