Help mounting the hd20 !!!!

S

scottyg

Junior Audioholic
I am a newbie to projectors and purchased and optoma hd20 with a throw ratio of 1.5-1.81. My screen is 92 inches diagonal and sits 144 12ft inches away from the screen (projector distance). My celing height is 101 inches and my screen is mounted exactly 17 inches from the celing. I believe the vertical offset to be 7.2 inches. Does this mean to mount the projector exactly 12 ft away? Can I bring my image down since some is on the celing with a flush mount? What is vertical offset?

FRAZZELED!!!

Scott

C

chadburger

Banned
You bought a good entry level projector but being a new guy to it you got a terrible unit to place as it has no lense shift, vertical and horizontal shift allows you to place unit then simply manual shift it left, right, up down or on more expensive units you can do this via remote............nice.
I have a Sony VPL100 that has remote powered vertical shift but no horizontal and it was a pain to setup...........I cant imagine doing it with no shift at all but DLP units many times dont offe any shift at any cost so your not in an impossible situation.......just a PITA one.
You can place your unit from around 9.6 feet to around 12.6 ft so you may or may not need to move unit. Only thing I can suggest is find a way to place projector in area you intend to mount (on top of ladder or someting) be very VERY careful and have somebody hold it then see how it lines up with screen.
The offset is how the lense throws image downwards, or upwards if you shelf mount and flip unit over. Your unit needs to be placed at just about 5to 7in *if I had to guess) above screens top surface from its center point to get it right, but playing with it first will let you know exactly where you need to be.
I have owned 3 units all with some shift, one full manual, one full power and this one I have now thats powered but only vertical............you will be fine its just gonna take some tweaks.

Last edited:
J