[Help] Low volume on surround/rear speakers

jdomi

jdomi

Audiophyte
Hi all,

First post here and would like some help. My setup is as follow (not sure if I can create a signature with all of this): 7.1 Dolby Atmos Setup = Samsung UN60D8000 TV, Yamaha RX-V781 AVR, Klipsch RP-450C Reference Premiere Center Channel Speaker, 2 Klipsch Klipsch RP-280F Reference Premiere Floorstanding Speakers, 4 Klipsch CDT-5800-C II 8" In-Ceiling Pivoting Speakers, 1 Polk Audio PSW505 Subwoofer, Samsung BD-J7500 Blu-Ray Player.

I am experiencing very low volume on my 4 ceiling speakers (2 surrounds and 2 surrounds back). I have changed their calibration many times, changed from small to large speakers. It's a brand new installation and all wiring is good, using banana plugs, longer wire is less than 20ft.

Currently, they are setup at 80Hz, -10db, YPAO is flat.

Newbie here, so please go easy and explain for me.

tyhjaarpa

tyhjaarpa

Audioholic Field Marshall
Raise the speaker level for those speakers as I assume they are now -10db (based on your post), try getting them closer to zero or to positive if needed.

Also with what content they are low volume? Everything? As some content is with lesser volume for surrounds to start with.

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
@tyhjaarpa,

I am trying your suggestion and I think I am getting somewhere. I will post results later.
You might want to buy a sound pressure level meter and manually level match all your channels with the receiver's built in test tones.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
How do you orient the mic for the in-ceiling speakers? 90 degrees to the speakers as is done with free standing speakers?

jdomi

jdomi

Audiophyte
@lovinthehd,

I am not sure I understand your question. I can pivot the in-ceilings towards the seating area and that's how I have them now.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi