Help connecting components

J

jrneill

Audiophyte
Hi,

I would like to see if some of the experts here can help me correctly connect my theater system. I'm new to the audio/video community and I would like to make sure I connect everything properly to gain full advantage of my system.
I have the following:
Comcast motorola cable box - DCT6200
Oppo DV981 - DVD player
Onkyo SR800 HTIB
Samsung 42" Plasma - HT-4254

Any help you all could share with me would be greatly appreciated!

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
I'll guess the HTiB doesn't have HDMI, so I'd go HDMI from the Oppo to the TV, optical or coaxial digital to the receiver. I would probably do the same for the cable box. I couldn't find info on that Plasma, is is 720p or 1080p?

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
What I found on the Onkyo and the cable box is that neither has HDMI, but both have component video (three RCA jacks for video). The TV appears to be 720P.

If you want to be able to switch video sources using the receiver, I'd recommend using component video for the connections (I'm assuming the Oppo has that). So, connect the cable box to the Onkyo using component video, connect the Oppo to the Onkyo using component video, and then connect the component video out on the Onkyo to the input on the TV.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
I read a review of that box that said it does have DVI, but if it isn't a HD box, then component is all you really need. Not sure if the review was of the correct box or not though.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
I read a review of that box that said it does have DVI, but if it isn't a HD box, then component is all you really need. Not sure if the review was of the correct box or not though.
You are correct! I downloaded the manual, and it does have DVI. The picture on Motorola's website for that box is incorrect. I just looked at the picture.

J

jrneill

Audiophyte
The cable box has DVI and is HD
oppo has hdmi
Samsung 4254 is 720 and has 3 hdmi
Onkyo sr800 is pass thru