Help!!! Audio only working in 5ch enhancer mode

J

johncreasy

Audiophyte
Hi all,

I have a yamaha htr 3064. I'm a noob and don't know much about surround sound. I set it up with a basic setup, speaker distance etc. I left it on movie-standard mode. It worked great until one day I came down and suddenly the audio only worked on 5ch enhancer. It's the only mode it will work on. It sounds very muffled on every other setting and can barely hear any voice audio. While using the 5ch mode it won't play out of the center speaker but the sub and front L/R and rear L/R all work. It is possible somebody played with the settings by accident but I just can't figure it out. I read through the manual and tried to reset but when I did that I noticed the receiver won't go to standby mode. It just shuts off and doesn't display anything on the receiver. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John

C

Cygnus

Senior Audioholic
You need to find the channel level settings and bring the Center channel back up to where you like it. Alternatively, if this doesn't work, I suppose it is possible that the wire going from your center speaker to the AVR has gone bad/came loose on one of the ends.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
check all the cables and you might need to do a factory reset on avr
HOW to - should be in your avr's manual

J

johncreasy

Audiophyte
Thanks for the replies. The center speakers works in the other settings. It's just the muffled, barely any audio coming from it like all the other speakers in those modes. But when I switch to 5ch enhancer all work great except for the center.

The manual states to put the receiver in standby mode as part of the first step to reset it. Every time I try to put it in standby mode it just shuts off completely and nothing displays on the front of the receiver.

So frustrating....there has to be some reason it only works in 5ch enhancer. I tried to look up what exactly the 5ch enhancer mode is but to no avail.....