HDMI pass through when powered off?

C

Chubasco

Audiophyte
And a few more newb questions below too.

Just bought a Pioneer 1020 & already a bit disappointed for the reasons below. Now considering returning it and buying something else...any recommendations appreciated.

Note that I'm an audio file newb, but technically (computer) savvy.

Pioneer 1020 disappointments:
1. Can't use any hdmi components while the receiver is off. This over complicates simple TV watching for the wife. Ability to use hdmi components (cable & PS3) with sound while receiver is off would be great.

2. Setting to have audio come only from TV is buried a bit too deep in menu (for wife), also no setting to play audio from BOTH tv & speakers.

3. Volume difference between commercials and content way to drastic requiring constant manual adjustment. Not as noticeable before using receiver.

MY SETUP/ preferences:
- Vandersteen 1c stereo speakers & V2W sub woofer
- Sharp Aquos LCD (1 hdmi)
- xbox360 hdmi
- ps3 hdmi
- Wii component
- hi def cable dvr hdmi
- streaming media from pc & Mac
- iPhone/iPod compatibility
- Bluetooth port or compatibility

Budget for receiver is less than $2,500

Again, appreciate any advice since I'm dealing with a return/refund timer on the Pioneer 1020. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
And a few more newb questions below too.

Just bought a Pioneer 1020 & already a bit disappointed for the reasons below. Now considering returning it and buying something else...any recommendations appreciated.

Note that I'm an audio file newb, but technically (computer) savvy.

Pioneer 1020 disappointments:
1. Can't use any hdmi components while the receiver is off. This over complicates simple TV watching for the wife. Ability to use hdmi components (cable & PS3) with sound while receiver is off would be great.