First Entry-level 2.1 setup

R

ruuuey

Audiophyte
Hello everyone! I am very excited to begin this journey of audiophilism(?) with everyone here on audioholics! Please teach me your ways! :D
A very brief intro: I am a dorming college student and I am hoping to graduate (haha) from the typical PC speakers (e.g. logitech).

I recently ordered a pair of Sony SS-B1000's along with a Sony STR-DH100 receiver (should be arriving Wednesday). These are planned for general use: music, movies and gaming (through both my PC and TV with a PS3).

After stumbling upon this forum, I wish I had discovered it sooner!
I have a couple of questions I hope this community can help me with:

1. Are the SS-B1000's adequate for a 13.5x9x8 bedroom? (Next semester I am moving into a similar-sized 12.5x10.5x8 room). BTW SS-B3000's are also within my budget. (I'm hoping to purchase some lower end equipment that could potentially be used as support in a larger setup in the future)

2. What are your suggestions for an active subwoofer [for the SS-B1000/SS-B3000's] that is crisp/clean but powerful-sounding for: music[top priority!], movies, gaming? (~$100 budget) (was looking at the Sony SA-W2500)

3. Is the Sony STR-DH100 receiver sufficient for powering the SS-B1000's? (Or SS-B3000's) Active subwoofers don't factor into this, do they?

4. How does this potential setup compare to Logitech's Z623? My buddies tried pushing me into getting those. Would I regret not getting the Logitech with this potential Sony setup?

5. Any other suggestions for an entry-level bedroom setup? I've been seeing a lot of Dayton recommendations... (Hoping to stick with the Sony's I already ordered, but may change if I'm convinced there's a better setup for the same price range)

6. Tangential question: How does a PC's sound card interact with a setup's receiver and etc?

As for actually setting up the system in the room... I'll refer to the many guides on this forum as much as I possibly can. ;)