Epson 6020UB or Panasonic AE8000 and which screen?

M

MikeSp

Junior Audioholic
Am getting ready for a FP in our media room -- it is totally light-controlled although SWMBO* will not watch a movie in a totally dark cave-like room.

Both of these FP's seem to be top notch for this price bracket and deciding on which is difficult since I have no experience with FP's.

Then comes the matter of which screen and I realize that there are ~100 inch screens out there that can cost as much as either of these projectors -- thus I can use recommendations as to screens that are the best bang for the buck for the best picture quality that will take advantage of what these two FP's can put out. The screen would be in a fixed mount.

Both are so new that I doubt that any comparisons can be made other than specs, but would appreciate any thoughts/opinions of the best FP of these two and the best value in a quality screen to work with at least a small amount of ceiling can light just above those viewing and four wall sconces turned down low.

Obviously, it is impossible to A/B these FP's at any dealers and actually, it is impossible to view either of these at any local dealers in my geographic area.

Opinions/thoughts appreciated

MikeSp

*She Who Must Be Obeyed

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
First - No wall sconces.

Second - No wall sconce.

Any uncontrolled lights in a theater are a no-no. Period.

Wall sconces are fine when the projector is off, but properly zoned can lights can be on, and can be on significantly bright when the projector is in use to provide plenty of light to move around by.

Keep in mind, the projector itself is a HUGE flashlight which is then bouncing off the screen and will do a tremdous job of lighting the room up.

See:
AV Integrated - Custom Audio Visual Integration In Washington DC Metropolitan Area