Emotiva vs. Rotel vs. Anthem

L

LemonTech

Audiophyte
I posted this on AVS but did not get much help so hopefully you all will be more available.
Ok, I've been contemplating looking in to getting an amp for a couple months now (I've never owned one so be gentle) since I went to a high end theater show room and they made the recommendation. Currently I'm running a pair of B&W 683s and a Martin Logan Dynamo 700 sub with a Pioneer VSX-53 AVR. In the near future I plan to complete the 5.1 setup with matching 600 series speakers and eventually sell it all and move on to a more potent setup when I purchase a home. While I was being shown around the store and I explained to the salesman the gear I had, and he said I really needed an amp because the Pioneer's advertised wattage output is grossly overstated and the system would benefit tremendously from external amplification. He recommended a Rotel RB-1582 or an Anthem MCA20 since I was running a 2.1 system and I didn't tell him I planned to complete the surround setup