tmurnin

tmurnin

Full Audioholic
So I'm adding an external amp to my setup. I am going to use my current Denon AVR 3312 as the pre, but want to add an external amp to power a new set of Dynaudio fronts. Trying to decide between the Emo XPA-3 to power the fronts and let the AVR handle the surrounds, or just get the UPA-5 and let it drive all 5 speakers. The UPA is about 1/2 the price of the 3-channel, but obviously it's a lot less power, too. I've never used an external amp before, so not sure whether I'll need the extra power of the XPA or not. I typically don't blast the receiver, but I like to listen at decent volumes and the Dynaudios are supposed to be pretty power-hungry.

Any thoughts?

K

kingweb50

Enthusiast
I went with a xpa-3 for my front three channels and the avr to power the surrounds. I can tell the difference when I go from the receiver to the amp in my fronts. It's not like its louder just sounds fuller

panteragstk

panteragstk

Audioholic Warlord
I would just power the front three with a new amp and let the AVR do the rest. The surround channels are a lot less important and don't get near as much sound going through them as the front three.

Personally, I wouldn't buy an external amp until after I listened to the new speakers using the receiver first, then decide if you need it.

tmurnin

tmurnin

Full Audioholic
But if I do get a new amp, should I pay for the XPA3 or will I be fine with the UPA, even losing that much power?

J

JonnyFive23517

Audioholic
But if I do get a new amp, should I pay for the XPA3 or will I be fine with the UPA, even losing that much power?
I'd get the X series and follow panteragsk's advice. For an extra $180 you can go up to the XPA-5. That's what I would do and power all the channels :)

M

Mkegreg

Enthusiast
On a side note.....I've been looking at building a 2 channel system with a pair of XPA-100s, anyone want to chime in, I hear nothing but great things. I'd probably match them to Somgtower RTs.

P

PENG