KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
I am planning a trip to Italy in May. Flying into Catanina, Italy.
What I am wondering is how laid-back (or not) driving is in Italy.
The consideration is whether or not to rent a car straight out of the airport or wait a day to observe the pace and flow of traffic.
As background, I know I will be a little out of sorts after the long overnight flight, but I am an alert/aggressive driver.
If it was driving into Atlanta, I would be okay because I know how people drive here.
When I went to Ecuador, drivers did several things (like passing on double yellow) that would have been very stressful until I had time as a passenger to understand that it was routine and had a chance to see how drivers reacted to accommodate it.
The process of composing and writing the question has convinced me that I want to wait (funny how that works), but I still would like to hear comments on driving in Italy to know what to expect.
Thanks!

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
I have driven in Italy. The Autostrada are not too bad, but a lot of Italians drive fast, so really watch your rear view mirror.

The towns are the most difficult. Like most continental Europeans, they drive on their horns. There are motor scooters everywhere, just colossal numbers of them. They seem to come at you from all directions. The roads are in the main narrow. The towns do have wonderful Piatzas though. The buildings and streets are ancient and the Italians do not update and totally ignore handicapped accessibility rules.

The food is wonderful. You can't get a bad meal.

My brother made a celebrated speech at a conservative party conference some years ago. He wanted what he called a Polermo clause. He wanted no EU law or regulation to be law until it had been enforced in Polermo!.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi