Does a preamp affect sound?

I

Impulse

Junior Audioholic
Hey there, so i am fairly new to hi fi audio, and i recently just got myself a nice carver amp, and am using an old insignia receiver as a pre amp, simply because it has pre out ports. Now, it has some hiss to it, and it was such a cheap receiver, it almost not worth fixing.So im looking into a newer preamp..a dedicated one hopefully.

Anyways, my question is, how much of the sound is affected by the preamp? The guy at Sound & Vision told me that its not too great of an amount. But then why are there Preamps that are more expensive than my car?

Should i buy some cheap receiver with pre outs, or is it worth it to get a nice pre amp?

F

FirstReflection

AV Rant Co-Host
Heh. It's funny how certain topics seem to crop up in batches :p One week it's external DACs. This week it's dedicated pre-amps and pre-pros!

Sorry, didn't mean to start my reply on a tangent, but it's just funny to me how that seems to happen :p

Anywho! On to the question at hand!

These days, there's really no reason to purchase a dedicated "separates" pre-pro instead of a good AV Receiver with pre-outs. Due to economies of scale, the receivers have more features, more inputs, the latest formats, AND a lower price! They're all upside and no downside! Plus, they give you option of powering, say, just your front speakers with an external amp while using the built-in amps to power the far less demanding surround channels!

Really expensive separates exist simply because there is a small, but affluent crowd out there who convince themselves that expensive things are ALWAYS better - regardless of any real world performance. And that somehow, having FEWER features and FEWER inputs is a good thing because...I don't know...it makes them more elitist and discriminatory? I've no idea. There's no rational reason for it. It's all just about showing off and telling everybody how much you spent to get something that only does ONE thing.