Do ANY new surround receivers have a tape monitor loop?

Discussion in 'Amps, Pre-Pros & Receivers' started by zildjian, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. zildjian Audioholic Chief

    zildjian
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Glasgow, KY
    Hey everyone,
    I'm trying to find a new receiver that has a TAPE MONITOR loop so I can keep the external EQ in the system I'm working on. The speakers need to have this eq (they are not the bose 901's with the required eq - just thought I'd say that before anybody starts bashing bose on here).

    Anyhow, I need a surround sound receiver (just 5 channels needed) that has capabilities for a tape loop/monitor. I see some older Pioneers and Panasonic ones on eBay, but I'd like to find a new one if possible, and the Panasonic ones I'm seeing use digital amps (Class H+ they say), and I'd like to stay away from digital amps right now (especially those made back 3 years ago! they sound much better now than they did then).

    Any help would be appreicated.
    Brad
  2. mtrycrafts Audioholic Slumlord

    mtrycrafts
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    15,685
    Likes Received:
    1,318

    I am not aware of a multi channel receiver recently made. And, if there is one, it will not be for all 5 channels.

    Are you trying to implement an EQ for all the channels?
  3. Boubou Audiophyte

    Boubou
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Always sunny Miami
    Don't know about tape monitor but I am curently using just the amp section of a cheap panasonic receiver. Yes digital amps. They have the power and sound very good, uncolored. Can't beat it. 5 amps for less than $250.00.
  4. zildjian Audioholic Chief

    zildjian
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Glasgow, KY
    I'm trying to impliment an eq for just the main L&R channels, but I wouldn't care if it affected all channels.
  5. mtrycrafts Audioholic Slumlord

    mtrycrafts
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    15,685
    Likes Received:
    1,318

    Unfortunately what you need to do is pre amp out, EQ, power amp in. So, in most cases, you need an external amp as there is no amp in on many receivers today, or most.:(
  6. Boubou Audiophyte

    Boubou
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Always sunny Miami
    Most receivers nowadays have the 6 amp in's used for the 5.1 output of a DVD-audio or SACD capable transporter.

    Most lower priced receivers don't have the necessary 5.1 pre-amp output that you need for such a setup.

Share This Page

  • EMPTek.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA