M

MrBoat

Audioholic Ninja
This is probably old news to you regulars that have been around the DIY audio scene. I'm relatively new to it so these are surprises when I find them. Talk about dedication.
http://www.inlowsound.com/

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
This is probably old news to you regulars that have been around the DIY audio scene. I'm relatively new to it so these are surprises when I find them. Talk about dedication.
http://www.inlowsound.com/
Paper mache loudspeaker horns have a long history going back to the dawn of audio.

This one from 1920

Paper mache has also long been favored by some in Lowther driver community.

Actually it is a good material for a horn.

This is what it is and how you make it.

Pretty simple and cheap.

M

MrBoat

Audioholic Ninja
Actually it is a good material for a horn.

This is what it is and how you make it.

Pretty simple and cheap.
I remember making things with paper Mache in school and at home as a boy.

We made a piñata out of it for my grandchildren's birthday party last year, using a balloon as a form.

It is interesting the lengths people will go to achieve these things. Those horns that man makes on that site are quite nice, as is the form he casts them on.

Johnny2Bad

Johnny2Bad

Audioholic Chief
Wood and metal is often the preferred material for construction of various objects, but it's not the only option. Paper Maché (or Papier-mâché) is a great material for creating moulds for glass or other composites, and in some cases can be the material itself for various projects. The process goes back to ancient times, ancient Greece at least.