Francis JEncar

Francis JEncar

Audiophyte
I am new in this, I'm planning to do a DIY Center Speaker for my Yamaha A-2070, if I have a mid-range driver with 80-100 watts @ 8 Ohms, how many watts will I need for my Tweeter in a two way set up, will it be the same as the Midrange driver or less.

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
Probably more than enough, depends on the specific drivers/crossover design.
lovinthehd:

Isn't this about the point where TLS Guy comes in with his post about matched speaker design: matching tweeters to drivers to crossovers? Any other approach is doomed to failure. TLS Guy may be on vacation and I miss his consistent and informative approaches to queries like this.

M

MrBoat

Audioholic Ninja
You can go to diysoundgroup.com or meniscusaudio.com to get an idea what speaker design relative to the drivers entails just for starters and there are other sites with some help from google. Those two sites offer kits and there will be notes included about the crossover design relative to the drivers and the cabinet and power required. It's more complicated than just selecting drivers based on their power ratings, if you want to arrive at something that sounds good.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
lovinthehd:

Isn't this about the point where TLS Guy comes in with his post about matched speaker design: matching tweeters to drivers to crossovers? Any other approach is doomed to failure. TLS Guy may be on vacation and I miss his consistent and informative approaches to queries like this.
As long as it doesn't disturb his weird classical music sensibilities or peaceful lake stuff (minus bugs)...who knows :). I certainly wouldn't want to listen to what he finds enjoyable in the way of music. OTOH I don't want boats with stupid crap boom box stuff wakeboarding....I'm an old school waterskiier and truck those idiots in the wake boats. :)

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord