Def Tech StudioMonitor 65 before and after break-in period

H

Hetfield

Audioholic Samurai
Well I have been a Def Tech fan for a very, very long time and I bought Studio Monitor 65's for a 5.1 system that has SM 55's in the surround position. The SM 65's sounded awesome out of the box so much so that I thought there would be no real uptick after the break-in period but I could not be more wrong. I bought them 2 and half months ago and they I think are finally fully broken in and they are on a whole other level now. Actually took me by surprise. I read they have a longer break-in period than most speakers so I guess I'm finally hearing them after the full break-in. I mean they are really blowing me away even more now. They are so accurate, so detailed, and so clear it can take you by surprise. I'm really happy with them and the 55's. I think I'm gonna replace my old CLR2000 with another SM 65 for center speaker and see three SM 65's working together up front along with the 55's in surround.

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
A break-in period like you describe doesn't strike me as plausible. More likely you just became acclimated to the sound.

H

Hetfield

Audioholic Samurai
I read that the break-in period is unusually long, but you could be right for all I know. I just started to notice over the last 3 or 4 days the sound is even better. It certainly could be me becoming more acclimated to their particular sound. Either way I am in heavy with the sound from this system now. Now in a month or two I gotta try a 3rd SM 65 for a center speaker. I will keep it upright because it will fit perfectly under my LCD.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
It's a good thing to be happy with your selections! Just don't go and listen to better stuff :)

ps Or this could happen
alicegif.gif

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I won't because I can't afford better stuff. :(