Connecting JBL Speakers to Panasonic Blu Ray

• Thread starter mukesh_pednekar
  • Start date
M

mukesh_pednekar

Audiophyte
Hi All,

This is my first post here, seeking help with my home theater setup. I am a novice and currently struggling to hookup my JBL speakers to the new Panasonic blu ray.

Background: I had my JBL home theater (150sisat) hooked up to HK receiver AVR 125. The HK receiver died afer serving me for past 8years. Now I have got a Panasonic 3D Blu Ray player (sc btt755). It has got its own speakers but they are nowhere close to the JBLs I have. I wish to hook up my JBL system but not sure how to do it.

Issues:
1. How do I connect the subwoofer (jbl 150)? The sub has two inputs – L&R RCA and 1LFE and my Panasonic player has 6 speaker outs which include one for the woofer. Do I need to convert the speaker out to LFE / RCA and will this work well?
2. Sub which came with Panasonic is passive sub – would it be okay to connect the jbl active sub to Panasonic.
3. Will my JBL satellite speakers work well with the Panasonic system?
4. If at all I am able to connect the JBL speakers to Panasonic – will I put the system in jeopardy ?

http://www.avsystemparts.com/media/00/a20791e13a3eaeb0964093_s.JPG

Looking for some help from the experts out here. Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
MP

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
The bad n news is that you probably won’t be able to use your JBL speakers with that Panasonic. It’s a so-called “home theater in a box” (HTIB), and with these things very often the speaker connections use proprietary plug ends that aren’t compatible with other standard speakers. Even if you could get around that – say, by doing a lot of wire-splicing – often the speakers that come with HTIB have unusually impedance ratings, which means other speakers may not work well with the amplifier.