cannot believe this....

legendary70

legendary70

Audioholic
I am very disappointed to of had just notice my infinity sm152 woofer has a one inch cut. I am pretty sure my grandson got to it the other day when my daughter was washing her car. I just had a long talk with my daughter and explained how upset this makes me. These are basically vintage speakers. My family knows how I feel about all my electronics. Going out of my way to take care of my stuff....then this. Just lack of supervision.

Sorry......just upset.

I cannot hear any rattling or distortion coming from the speaker. Thank god!!

Should I leave it alone? Try n fix it. If so how? Ideas?

Attachments

slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord
Dang, that is painful for me to look at! Sorry for your bad fortune.

It can likely be repaired, but I have no experience with that. Maybe just replace the driver, but probably hard to find a replacement.

TLS may be the person to ask. Maybe he will come along, or you should send him a PM.

legendary70

legendary70

Audioholic
K. Thx. I hope that guy comes from n. They told me silicone?

JohnnieB

JohnnieB

Senior Audioholic
I dropped a vacuum cleaner handle through a paper woofer once. :eek:

I removed the driver and repaired it with newspaper soaked in thinned Elmer's glue. Kind of like paper mache. Put the driver back in and it sounded just fine. Repair lasted long after I owned the speakers.

Don't know how technically correct the repair was, but...:D

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
The video showed a paper coned woofer.

Does the paper towel/Elmer's glue repair also work on plastic coned woofers? I don't remember which Infinity models had plastic woofers.

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
The video showed a paper coned woofer.

Does the paper towel/Elmer's glue repair also work on plastic coned woofers? I don't remember which Infinity models had plastic woofers.
The Infinity SM152 is polypropylene coated woofers

tyhjaarpa

tyhjaarpa