Can I use all the Yamaha RX V675 power for only 2 channels?

MutantMike

MutantMike

Audiophyte
I am a total noob and really not sure what I am doing with house AV

I have a Yamaha RX v675 along with 2 Polk Book shelf speakers and a self powered Polk 10" sub

I just cannot get it to sound right. It is just not powerful enough for some reason. I use to use a Lepai 2020 and it sounded the same and that should not be considering this Yamaha was $300

Right now I have the 2 book shelf speaker wired to the L/R front

Thanks!

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
I am a total noob and really not sure what I am doing with house AV

I have a Yamaha RX v675 along with 2 Polk Book shelf speakers and a self powered Polk 10" sub

I just cannot get it to sound right. It is just not powerful enough for some reason. I use to use a Lepai 2020 and it sounded the same and that should not be considering this Yamaha was $300

Right now I have the 2 book shelf speaker wired to the L/R front

Thanks!
No you can only use the power of 2 channels.

You problem is your low quality puny speakers. Get some decent speakers with some balls.

Changing amps virtually never changes anything, changing speakers always does.

MutantMike

MutantMike

Audiophyte
No you can only use the power of 2 channels.

You problem is your low quality puny speakers. Get some decent speakers with some balls.

Changing amps virtually never changes anything, changing speakers always does.

Thx

Well I had some Micca bookshelf speakers, went to Polk as a slight upgrade.

Problem is I have not room for bigger speakers right now, not at all.

Would adding 2 more bookshelf speakers change anything? Maybe add them as rear or surround channel?

Also, would hooking up my powered 10" Polk sub be any different than a non powered one? I am having some issues with this for some reason.

3db

3db

Audioholic Slumlord
We need a lot of information before we can help you.